Main Pages

By Region




Diamond Approach

Glossary of Spiritual Wisdom

From the teachings of A.H. Almaas

What is Virtue?

Diamond Approach Teachings About: Virtue

The Four Virtues of Lao Tsu

The Chinese Taoist teacher, Lao Tsu, described the Four Virtues of what he called the virtuous life. If you live according to them you’ll be living the true human life, which will predispose you to the experience and realization of oneness. That means it is not just understanding of self not just having certain experiences; it means living, acting, interacting in a certain way. So what are these four virtues? The first has to do with love and respect for your Essence and Being: to live a life that implicitly loves and respects what is genuine in you and everyone… Another of the four virtues is sincerity: being sincere in your life, not lying to yourself. To be sincere is to be earnest about exposing your self-deceptions about who you really are, and what you want and do not want, what you feel and do not feel, what scares you and what doesn’t, about what is actually happening in you and in your situation… The third virtue or quality is what is called delicacy. It is the nature of the ego-self or personality that it is thick-skinned, thickheaded, hard, and tough. This hardness, toughness, thickness, and dullness is the circumference, or the boundary between you and everyone else and the rest of the universe. So that’s why you need to become more refined, more delicate. You need to have more gentleness, more vulnerability, more receptivity and permeability… The fourth quality or virtue is what is called helpfulness. Obviously, helpfulness is based on oneness itself. To be helpful means that you are aware that you do not work only for yourself; your work is for everyone. If you only work on yourself without helping other people, you are not doing the Work. It is as simple as that.

Subscribe to the Diamond Approach

See past editions of the Diamond Approach newsletter